Support from Allah

“And during the night, you shall rise up from sleep to pray voluntarily, so that your Lord
may raise you to an honorable position. And say; my Lord admit me an honorable
admittance and make my departure an honorable departure. And provide for me
from your special place a powerful support. And say, the truth has dawned and the
falsehood has vanished. Indeed, falsehood always vanishes,” – The Qur’an, 17:79-81

In the name of The God The Most Gracious The Most Merciful

May the peace, blessings and mercy of The God be upon you. The above verses of The Qur’an contain a duah that for at least a year now I have been reciting in Arabic in my Night Prayers every night. The duah is the parts that those verses are telling you to say. So the duah is this:

My Lord admit me an honorable admittance and make my departure an honorable departure. And provide for me
from your special place a powerful support. The truth has dawned and the falsehood has vanished. Indeed, falsehood always vanishes.”

Very recently, within the last few months, I have begun searching for a new name. I have implored The God to show me what is the absolutely best name for me to take. I have implored The God even to speak to me in my dreams and tell me the name I should take; and before that I implored The God to show me somehow what name to take, in my dreams. When I asked to be shown, I had a dream with three hawks in it; they flew overhead one after the other out from a dense cloud, and a young yet strangely large one landed nearby me and looked at me. My grandmother basically told me it means that I already have the name…and it just happened that by that time I had the dream, I had for awhile been considering the Greek first and middle name Diomidis Tudeus. But I still continued imploring The God, which is why later I implored The God to speak the best name for me in words and not symbols in my dreams to me. But so far I have not had any other dreams on the subject…no particularly unusual dreams. But the other day I realized something; while I have been reciting that above duah every night in my prayers, and while part of the duah asks The God for a powerful support from Him, it just so happens that the name Diomidis means in ancient Greek, “Supported by God.” And I came to the name, and was drawn to it, long before I began seeking a new name, because I had been reading the Iliad of Homer; I was drawn to it because in the Iliad when the Greeks are battling the Trojans, Diomidis son of Tudeus the son of Oineus was a hero supported supernaturally by Zeus, (God; “Zeus” means “God” in ancient Greek), against the Trojans. So it now seems fairly evident that The God had already shown me in written words the best name for me to take.

By showing me the name Diomidis and drawing me towards it, The God fulfilled and granted me two of my prayers; one is that The God certainly has given me a powerful support from His special place, since Diomidis means “Supported by God;” and the other is that The God has shown me the best name for me to take, before I even asked The God to do so, and before I consciously knew I needed a new name.

I’m still going to keep an Arabic last name. I should also point out that nowhere does The Qur’an say that Muslims have to have Arabic names only; that is only a human assumption. It is not against the laws of The God to take non-Arabic names. Also for safety purposes, I do not intend to tell you my last name or what name I have had since before I began seeking a new one. I simply wanted to share this experience.

Either way, I believe it is vastly important for me to point out that The God is the best support. I believe that the verses I quoted at the start of this article, are God’s clear commandment that during the meditations at night, we are to recite that duah. It’s mandatory. When you pray in the night, you are required by God’s laws to recite that duah. So learn the duah, and DON’T FORGET TO USE IT WHEN YOU PRAY AT NIGHT AND MEDITATE AT NIGHT!

Praise be to The God The Lord of the universes.

Leave a Reply

Unexplored Universe

Look Up At The Stars, Not Down At Your Feet

Ellen Rykers

a writing portfolio

Mother Tongues

a journey through language

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Tamil and Vedas

A blog exploring themes in Tamil and vedic literature

Farjad's Blog

Exploring the truth...

Collected Works of Sri Bhakti Ananda Goswami

The Primal Revelation at the Heart of Civilization

46 Psalm

Be still and know that I am God

Research of The Quran

A site for soaring eyes!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

